SAT prep

Resources: MCAS

Massachuseetts Comprehensive Assessment System

What is the MCAS?

The MCAS is a test that measures proficiency in reading and mathematics. A passing score is required of all Massachusetts students to be eligible for a high school diploma.

Back to top

Who takes the MCAS?

The MCAS is a mandatory test for all Massachusetts students, regardless of language and origin.

Back to top

The MCAS format

There are four kinds of questions on the MCAS: multiple-choice, short-answer, open-response and writing prompt.

Back to top

How the MCAS is scored

Student scores can fall into one of four categories:

  • Advanced (grades 4-10)/Above Proficient (grade 3)
  • Proficient (grades 3-10)
  • Needs Improvement (grades 3-10)
  • Warning (grades 3-8)/Failing (grades 9 and 10)

The MCAS point scale ranges from 200 to 280. A passing score on the high school test is 220 or higher. A score between 240 to 258 is proficient and a score of 260 or higher is advanced or above proficient.

Back to top

MCAS test dates, registration deadlines and fees

There is no fee for the MCAS. The tests are administered in schools during the school day.

Back to top

  • SAT Prep, Manchester MA
  • Better SAT scores, MA
  • private tutoring, Marblehead, MA
  • SAT Math, Lynnfield, MA
  • SAT tutoring, Danvers, MA
  • Sullivan Tutoring
  • ACT Test tutoring
  • private tutoring, Bishop Fenwick
  • SAT Prep Wenham, MA
  • SAT 2 tutoring
  • ACT Tutoring, Tewksbury, MA
  • SAT Prep Boston College
  • ACT tutoring Lynnfield, MA
  • SAT English, Ipswitch, MA
  • SAT preparation, Bedford, MA

click quote for more testimonials

SullivanCards - SAT tutoring

math problem of the day

click question for correct answer

vocab problem of the day

click word for definition